Skip to content

Consequences

February 7, 2013


I have an opinion on this matter.

And it will probably upset people.

Actions have consequences, our fathers and grandfathers for at least the last 4 or 500 years, (and more like 1 or 2 thousand years) freed by a kinda sorta Christian world view moved western culture in the direction to bring us to our current first world status of wealth and plenty.

Most if not all third world nations during that time were wholly owned by evil. Whether that be by Islam, Hinduism, Communism or other sundry vile religions and cultural practices, the consequences continue down the generations and directly results in poverty, filth, famine and misery. Not as a judgement from God mind you, as a natural consequence of the actions these people took in history both ancient and near.

So yeah, we have first world problems. Our fathers and grandfathers back generations given the freedom of their mind by living with a more or less Christian world view, worked, bled and died to give us a better life and different problems than those whose ancestors did not have the foresight to live properly and aggressively for the future and posterity. Hurray for living in the richest nation on earth, thank God for our freedom and liberty created for us by our forefathers, that gives us this prosperity and wealth. And I would note that we are the most generous of all the nations, no other nation or group of nations have out done America in generosity, humanitarian aid or defense of the weak in the past 100 years.

Your just gonna have to excuse me for not tripping over my guilt for living in this awesome place. Anywhere in the world could be just as great if they would embrace American ideas, ideals and a Christian ish world view. But they don’t so they continue in their filth and misery. To some extent the American generosity propagates this for we give them of our wealth and excess but do not help them to change their culture, so the problem continues.

But their problems aren’t ours, we used to have the same issues; dirty water, unreliable food sources, horrendous living conditions, non-existent plumbing and the rest, thousands and millions of our ancestors died from cholera, malaria, dysentery, rickets, scurvy etc. But we as a people overcame these problems, the brilliant minds in our society strained and invented things like the modern sewage system that keeps our waste away from our drinking water and refrigeration that allows us to get cold fresh milk anywhere in the nation, even 1000 miles away from the nearest cow. Do I feel sorry for them? Yes. But they aren’t my problem or priority. My concerns are closer to home; American children without guidance education that would seek to reverse the course of the last 200 years and leave us at the level of these third world nations and a nation and culture that are more worried by the plight of people in third world nations than in what their own government is doing to them. And as goes America so goes the only hope the world has for freedom.

It ticks me off that folks like these think we should pretend that things that annoy us (and I’ll be honest none of the things in that video are problems I’ve encountered … well except the pickle one) shouldn’t annoy us because some kid in a rat hole country somewhere has to drink out of a polluted water source because his father and grandfather were more concerned that someone absconded with their goat or violated a 2000 year old code of honor than with sorting out their nations sewage and drinking water system.  It’s the same idea of a parent telling their kid to clean their plate because kids in Africa are starving. It is simply utterly ridiculous.

Actions have consequences and some actions have consequences for generations.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2013 10:50 am

    I see this video as a reminder of the lack of gratitude in American Christ-followers, as well as a warning against lack of compassion.
    First-World-Problems annoyances ‘buying too many groceries and having to make two trips from the car’ are not acceptable emotions for Christians. (I’m talking about true followers of Christ, not nominally Christian Americans.) The FWPs listed in this video are all born of a heart attitude that is sinful – laziness, gluttony, selfishness. There’s no way to justify that in light of Scripture.
    When I find myself getting upset in a drive-through because I’ve been sitting there for five minutes, I immediately am ashamed of such a petty feeling – I’m inconvenienced and impatient and ungrateful for the fact that I have to wait a handful of seconds for someone else to make my lunch for a couple of bucks. To me, this type of ‘first world problem’ is a completely wrong attitude for Christians. I will absolutely remind my dinner-table-complaining children (and dinner-table-complaining-self) that God has provided us with food, and that we need to be thankful for that in light of the fates of children who drop dead from starvation every moment of every day. Not because I want to instill guilt in them – but GRATITUDE and COMPASSION.
    >>Some things-that-could-be-considered-FWPs in the U.S. ARE unjust (speed traps, for one, or rude employees at any given establishment) and I think there’s a just reason for a Christian becoming angry in a righteous manner and taking action over these.<<
    While the consequences of suffering & poverty in third world countries is indeed due to the sinful decisions of earlier generations, it is imperative that we have Christ's attitude towards them – 'The poor are with you always.'
    'He has anointed me to bring good news to the poor.'
    ' I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.'
    'Go, sell what you own, and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven.'
    'She out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all she had to live on.'
    'When you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, and the blind. And you will be blessed, because they cannot repay you.'
    'For you tithe mint and rue and herbs of all kinds, and neglect justice and the love of God.'
    'Defend the poor and fatherless;
    Do justice to the afflicted and needy.
    Deliver the poor and needy;
    Free them from the hand of the wicked'

    Regardless of their forefather's decisions, the poor are absolutely the responsibility of the true Christian. Let our actions of compassion have consequences for future generations.

Leave a Reply

